Reflections of Sunflower

March 21, 2008

Good Friday

Filed under: Daily Reflections — by sunflowersreflections @ 2:26 pm

When I was growing up, we always attended (or participated in) all of the Holy Week Services – Maundy Thursday, Good Friday, Sunrise Easter Sunday Service, and regular time Easter Service.   

Today is Good Friday, the day that commemorates the crucifixion and death of Jesus.  The weather and the tone in Chicago could not convey the felling Good Friday always gave me.  It is grey out, foggy, and down-pouring huge snowflakes (I am talking cotton-ball size).  Basically, it is miserable outside on a day that represents death. 

As I kid, even though we had school off.  I never liked Good Friday services.  They were dark.  They were sad.  But, I guess that was the point. 

I suppose if today’s weather is representative of how Good Friday made me feel as a child, I can only hope Sunday’s weather will do the same.  Joy.  Brightness.  New life.  SPRING.  (The forecast is high of 38 and “few snow showers”)

Sorry for the gloomy post.  I just started writing and this is what came out. 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

