Reflections of Sunflower

March 17, 2008

Going Clean

Filed under: Daily Reflections — by sunflowersreflections @ 2:55 pm

For awhile I have been readying about Eating Clean in Oxygen Magazine.  This weekend I finally broke down bought the Eat Clean Diet book and an Eat Clean Cookbook.  By Sunday afternoon, I had the book read and took of to Whole Foods with a shopping list.  (Sidenote: I hate grocery shopping, especially on Sundays.  Too many people pushing around.  When I was looking at cottage cheese, I actually had a couple yank my cart out of my hands and moved it so they could get by me.  Um, EXCUSE ME?!  I am not even going to go into the broken cash register and having to move the entire contents that were in my cart to a new lane).   The gist of eating clean is to not eat processed foods and to eat six small meals a day, that are a mixture of fruits/veggies, lean protein, complex carbohydrates, low-fat dairy. 

So far (on the second day) I like it.  I found that I normally eat a mid-afternoon snack any way, I might as well plan for it and eat something good for me.  The odd thing about it is that when I was home yesterday, I felt like I was doing nothing but eating.  Also, after 2.5-3 hours, I really am hungry, ready to eat.  As an example, here is/was my menu for today:

1. Oatmeal/flaxseed/wheat germ cooked in water with raisins, dried cherries, and walnuts and three hard boiled egg whites
2. Nectarine and almond butter
3. Grilled chicken wrap on an Ezekiel wrap with baby spinach, tomatoes, and hummus
4. Raw carrots sticks, celery sticks, and broccoli, pita bread, and hummus
5. Same as #3 (mmm…it was good!)
6. Probably yogurt and fruit (berries) with flaxseed and wheat germ

OH and with each of those and between I have had 1-2 cups (about 8 oz.) of water.  I have ran to the bathroom SEVERAL times today. 

I am not sure if it because I started this yesterday or not, but between yesterday morning and this morning, I lost 2.5 pounds.  Hopefully this will be a good change and I will be able to make it a complete life change.

Tonight I am starting something else – I’ll let you know how it goes later…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

