Reflections of Sunflower

November 10, 2007

Like a Magnet

Filed under: Daily Reflections,NaBloPoMo — by sunflowersreflections @ 11:49 pm

Hubby and I attract bad service at restaurants.  This has to be one of my biggest pet peeves, not receiving service in a service focused environment.  Don’t get me wrong, I realize that sometimes places are busy or shorthanded and the server is doing the best they can.  That was not the case tonight.

We went to a local brew pub that is not very high on our list of brew pubs because of the luck we have had there in the past, but we were meeting up with some friends so we figured we would give it another try.  The server would walk up to the table every 15-20 mins, sort of look around and then just walk away.  He would not ask if things were ok, or if any one needed anything.  Also, this is a brew pub that has a mug club were the club members get a larger portion of beer for the same price (No, this wasn’t Rock Bottom, I love that place!).  The server would bring the guys the mug club mugs but would only bring the girls pint glasses, so we “could handle it” as he put it.  Excuse me, who are you to decided?!

Well, I ordered my food, and since I was sick all week I have very little of a voice.  So I told him the soup I wanted and then pointed to the pizza in the menu, he joked with me and said “Yeah, I don’t really know how to pronounce that either” and walked away.  Ok, I thought, maybe he is a total douche with the beers, but he is trying and was being nice.  A little while later out came Hubby’s burger and my soup.  We ate it.  I took my antibiotics – which need food.  And I waited for my pizza.  And waited.  And my stomach started to hurt.  FINALLY, I caught the server’s eye from across the room, he came over and I asked him about the pizza, he said “You ordered a pizza? From Me?!”  I said, yes and recalled the whole thing how I pointed to the menu, what he said, etc.  He apologized and said he would comp. us the pizza.  At least the pizza was good.

It took us 35 mins to get a check, during that time I went to the bar twice to get more water.  And when we got the bill, the pizza was on it – full price.  We just paid and left.  I didn’t want to wait another hour to fix it.

This is not the first time stuff like this has happened.  We went into an almost empty restaurant, was seating and after 20 mins of no one even stopping by to say “Hey, I am your server, I’ll be right back” we just left.  Two tables away, an employee was sitting talking to his friends. 

I really think we should start following the rules of tipping that John Lithgow’s character from 3rd Rock from the Sun follows – here is a stack of ones, the potential tip, you do well, I’ll add to it, you do poorly, I’ll take away.

What about you?  What are your pet peeves?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

