Reflections of Sunflower

November 2, 2007

World Boxing Championship

Filed under: Daily Reflections,NaBloPoMo — by sunflowersreflections @ 10:40 am

Over the last few weeks the World Boxing Championships have been taking place in Chicago.  This is one of the international sporting events that World Sport Chicago/Chicago 2016 is hosting in order to boost the bid for the 2016 Summer Olympics.  It was determined that the event would be hosted in Chicago five months ago, and if I do say so myself, so far the event has gone really well, especially since normally cities have two years to plan to host this event.  My company has been helping out with the planning of this event and through that I have been very involved as a volunteer manager. 

At first, I was not sure what to think.  I have never watched or been interested in boxing, but generally, I am a fan of live sport.  I have been pleasantly surprised.  International sporting events are great!  I have really enjoyed interacting with the athletes and coaches.  Also, the support different teams from different counties receive is incredible.  Large numbers came to support teams several teams including those from Bulgaria, Macedonia, and Lithuania.  The crowd gets into it as well, if there is one group chanting and cheering for one boxer, then often others in the crowd just start to cheer for his opponent.

The other night, I saw something great.  I was in the area where the teams eat their meals, it was an off meal time, but one table still had coaches sitting there talking, from lunch time several hours earlier.  When they left, I looked at their backs to see what countries they were from, one was from Croatia and the other from Serbia.  I must say that I do not know much about the recent politics in that region of the world, but that they are starting to try to reconcile.  It was just moving to see in front of me.  This is one of the reason that I think the Olympics are great, countries can come together and celebrate through sport. 

Also, how often do you get to see a larger than life golden boxer?

(Sorry for the poor quality – camera phone…)

1 Comment »

  1. It sounds like quite the feat to organise an event such as this on such short notice. Seeing people from different countries all getting along is always a hopeful thing…

    Comment by katesmudge — November 3, 2007 @ 7:55 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

