Reflections of Sunflower

November 19, 2006

That came out when?!

Filed under: Daily Reflections,NaBloPoMo — by sunflowersreflections @ 11:28 pm

Tonight my husband pulled out an old school Red Hot Chili Peppers greatest hits album.  We were listening to it on the way to our weekly visit to his grandma’s house.  Even though I recognized most of the song, he was telling me little tidbits about each of them – including when the song came out.  That part was crazy.  It was a greatest hits album from the 1990’s, so all the songs were from the 80’s and 90’s.  They have had so many more releases since then, it is nuts.  I started to feel old.

Then I remembered couple of stories that my husband and one of our friends had recently told me.  The first was my husband’s story.  He was at work one night, working with a high schooler.  This high schooler started to hum Smashing Pumpkins’ Bullet with Butterfly Wings.  Being that guy that can recognize any song in three notes, my husband said, “Oh, that is a great song!”  The high schooler’s response, “What? Oh, right, I don’t know it, it was just some old song I heard on the radio.”  That is an old song?  That is on my ipod.  I have “oldies” on my ipod…

The second story was told to me by a good college friend who is a band/orchestra teacher in a middle school.  He was talking to his students about bands that he liked (e.g., Collective Soul and Live) and not one of them had heard of any of the bands he had listed.

I guess this makes my husband, our friend, and me out of touch with today.  Or maybe just with middle/high schoolers and I am okay with that.

1 Comment »

  1. They’ve never heard of Collective Soul, Live, or the Smashing Pumpkins? What?

    Wait… I just realized… these kids have grown up on a steady diet of Britney Spears and Backstreet Boys. I fear for the future of humanity.

    Comment by Dawn — November 20, 2006 @ 7:09 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

