Reflections of Sunflower

November 10, 2006

Goin’ Trampin’

Filed under: Daily Reflections,NaBloPoMo — by sunflowersreflections @ 1:50 pm

Today I am going to head back out to Indiana so I can once I again go tramping around in wetlands.  You thought I was doing the other type of tramping, didn’t you.

Well, let me back up here.  A few weeks ago, I was preparing for two fun trips to Indiana Dunes National Lake Shore to sample wetlands for my master’s project.  At that time, I was not sure if I would be able to go, because I needed at least another person to go with me.  Mainly for a safety reasons.  So, I was asking my friends, “Hey, want to go tramping around in wetlands with me?”  Completely not thinking about the double meeting to that questions…Any way the National Park Service provided another person, and I was good to go. 

Two weeks ago I spent the weekend installing passive-diffusive samplers and collecting water samples out of wetlands, then processed the water samples.  Think last weekend of October in Northwest Indiana, in waist deep water – often having to shove your hands into the water.  It was cold and windy – but the sun was out, and most of the wetlands are in a dune and swale system – so the wetlands are at a lower elevation and surrounded by dunes – this blocked most of the wind.  The sampling ended about the time the sun was falling behind the horizon.  And then the REAL fun began.  I had to process the water samples, which meant they had to be filtered.  Each sample took a minimum of one hour 15 minutes and the maximum was well over two hours.  I decided to push through the night and complete the TWEVLE water samples* as soon as possible.  This was the first all nighter I had pulled in at least four or five years.  I finished around 1 pm.* Slept for four hours, then drove home.

This weekend should not be as bad.  I will head out there tonight, get to the lab early tomorrow to get everything ready.  Then collect the passive-diffusive samplers.  Package them up, and my sampling for my masters project is done.  (This is all in theory, when it comes to sampling, nothing goes according to plan.)  Wish me luck – and cross your fingers for decent weather. 

*That could have been a maximum of 24 hours of filtering water.

2 Comments »

  1. I want to be a tramp (I mean I want to go tramping!)

    Comment by ESY — November 10, 2006 @ 9:56 pm |Reply

  2. […] a special project.  I started this project last fall, do you remember the discussion about “Goin’ Tramping“?  I am suppose to be working on the paper for that project.  I am having a tough time, […]

    Pingback by Avoidance « Reflections of Sunflower — April 23, 2007 @ 11:23 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

