Reflections of Sunflower

November 7, 2006

Tuesdays

Filed under: Daily Reflections,NaBloPoMo — by sunflowersreflections @ 10:11 pm

Most people hate Mondays – do not get me wrong, I do not like them either – but right now I hate Tuesdays.  By the end of the day I am BEAT.  The main reason is that I have class on Tuesday nights.  This is not any class – this is a required class, for my masters on a topic that I DO NOT care about or even like.  Additionally, it is a “live” on-line class, so we have to log in, and then sit and stare at the screen for 3 hours and 15+ minutes while the professor talks on and on, flipping through his slides.

The class starts at 6:30 pm and is suppose to be done at 9:45 pm.  Tonight, we were not far off, we were done at about 9:55 pm.  The start time causes a ripple effect on my day.  In order to get home in time to sign in to class – I have to take home the “early” train, which leaves  downtown Chicago at 4:50.  On a normal day, this places me at home my 6:15 pm – 15 minutes to A) make Tozi not feel completely ignored*, B) change my clothes, C) eat something (maybe), and D) log into the program, which takes – I kid you not – almost 5 minutes.  However, my train is not normal (the deep hatred for my commuter train line is for another discussion) and does not always arrive on time – reducing my time for all of the above.  Additionally, I can not take in my “alternative” train which provides me another 45 minutes of precious sleep in the morning, because that train does not get in early enough for the 20+ minute drive home.

Work on Tuesdays also seems hectic.  It is generally the day after status meetings and everyone is full steam ahead on projects and tasks.  This usually means they are looking for comments or reviews or products from me.  Items I do not have time to complete.

Now class is done, work is on hold until the morning.  I was hoping to watch the Jon Stewart/Steven Colbert election coverage, but I think I am going to go crawl into bed.  Good night.

* Tozi typically spends the entire 3+ hours sitting at the bottom of the stairs whining and barking, because she knows I am up there.

1 Comment »

  1. OK, that does it. No more deadlines for you on Tuesdays!

    Comment by ESY — November 8, 2006 @ 8:46 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

