Reflections of Sunflower

November 2, 2006

Family

Filed under: Daily Reflections,NaBloPoMo — by sunflowersreflections @ 6:01 pm

I have to admit, I am not in much of a witty and humorous mood this week, instead I am fairly reflective.   While planning a wake and funeral for my husband’s grandpa, I came upon a realization.  I am really lucky to have married into this family.  They completely excepted me into the flock from the very beginning – and did so unconditionally.  Many people have difficulties with their in-laws, I am very happy to have the ones I have.  They have been incredibly supportive of me, my decisions, and actions.  For this I am very thankful. 

My husband, sister-in-law, and I spend yesterday evening looking through grandma’s pictures to choose pictures of grandpa for a slide show that will play during his wake.  I was really not sure how I would react looking at the photographs, but it was really enjoyable and a healing experience.  I was able to remember him for more than what he was during this last year – which is what is on the forefront of all of our minds.  He was a strong, goofy, respected, fun-loving, and caring man.  He loved to go dancing.  Enjoyed numerous cats and tried to learn to play the organ.  He served in the navy and during WWII – where he luckily survived attacks by kamikaze planes to his ship.  Now, we are all happy that he is no longer battling cancer.

1 Comment »

  1. I’m glad it went okay, though it sounds like it was incredibly hard!

    Comment by Leah — November 3, 2006 @ 6:26 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

